Latest News

Future of Canada Project (FCP) Announcement

On 26th July, the Future of Canada Project announced it will fund nine new interdisciplinary research projects at McMaster, which includes Dr. Robert Cockcroft et al's "Reconciliation through community- and curriculum-building in astronomy" project. "Having this funding is incredibly important and exciting," says Rob, who serves as Director of the William J. McCallion Planetarium.  "It will allow us to create new programming for both the McCallion and the new portable planetarium by working with Indigenous Elders, scholars, and students at McMaster and beyond.  It will also allow us to create a new Indigenous astronomy undergraduate course.  Both of these projects will build on existing collaborative efforts and will help further reconciliation."

Graeme Luke awarded Faculty of Science Research Chair

Graeme announcement

July 12, 2022

Congrats to Professor Graeme Luke on being appointed the Faculty of Science Research Chair in Quantum Condensed Matter Physics. Research Chairs are appointed for 6 years through a competitive process that recognizes research excellence and impact.


David Venus Retirement Party

David Venus talk at his retirement event

June 28, 2022

Professor and former department chair David Venus retired in July 2021, but we couldn’t celebrate until almost a year later because of COVID restrictions. David joined the department in 1988 and was department chair for two terms between 2005 and 2012. His calm and evidence-based leadership during this difficult time in the Faculty of Science was critical for the continued success of Physics & Astronomy, and really showed how much David invested in the department. In typical David fashion, his remarks during the retirement party celebrated his fellow COVID retirees and provided a humorous description of how things have changed since he started at McMaster. David continues his research on magnetic properties of thin films as a professor emeritus.

Go Back
McMaster University - Faculty of Science | Physics & Astronomy